Tags

, ,

One of the things that I love about the place that I live is the variety of produce available at the farmers’ market, year-round. I don’t know how it is in other places, but here, winters are filled with luscious oranges, cauliflower in vibrant hues, radishes with the distinctive bite that I’ve grown to love– really, anything that you can think of.

Yesterday, when I walked to the farmers’ market, I had an incredibly difficult task in deciding which of any number of items to choose for this week. I’m not sure why, but it always surprises me how many different vegetables and fruits there are.

After I had made my selections, I was on my way out when I passed by a stand piled high with oranges. I intended to walk past, but my eye caught on a sampling bin filled with slices of the most beautiful, bright pink-fleshed oranges I’d ever seen. Of course, I had to try one– then proceeded to buy five more. They were even more delicious than they looked.

I wanted to make something for breakfast today, and as I thought about it, those five oranges called to me. It needed to be something easy, but I also wanted it to be special. The obvious answer, then, was French toast. My grandmother used to make it for us when we spent the night at her house, so I no longer need a recipe; it’s second nature. I added an orange’s juice and zest to the egg mixture and made an orange-honey syrup for the top, and it was the perfect way to use them.

DSC_0030

Orange French Toast

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 C milk
  • zest of 1 orange
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • cardamom
  • cinnamon
  • 12 slices of bread

Syrup:

  • 1/2 C honey
  • zest & juice of 1 orange
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Beat the eggs. Mix with milk and orange juice and zest. Pour the mixture onto a plate, and sprinkle with cardamom and cinnamon. Dip both sides of a slice of bread in it, then cook over medium heat until brown. Repeat for the rest of the bread, sprinkling with the spices every slice or two.
  2. Meanwhile, make the syrup: whisk all ingredients together in a small saucepan. Cook for about ten minutes over medium heat, stirring regularly. Cool slightly and serve on the French toast.

DSC_0021

