Tags

, , ,

I’ve been thinking of re-naming this blog– probably something clever, a pun maybe, related to soup. Why? Well, of my last four recipes, three have been soup. Should I apologize for that? Maybe. But, after all, soup is a wonderful thing, especially in the winter.

That is, if you can consider the absurd seventy-degree weather that we’ve been having “winter.” I sit on a sun-facing bench every morning with my friends, and while they bask in the warmth, I cower in the shade, praying for rain. If I could control the weather, it would rain– or at least be cloudy– every day for the rest of my life. Everybody says that I’ll miss the sun when I head East for college, but I seriously doubt that I will.

Ask me in a year if that’s still true.

Anyway, about the soup. As you can see above, I’ve called it “swamp sludge,” because that’s precisely what it looks like: a bowl of green algae that somebody ladled out of a swamp. I had to find a way to use up massive bunches of collard and mustard greens, and because the Internet was of little help (too much frying and bacon fat for my tastes), this is how it ended up.

Don’t be put off by appearances, though; it actually tastes great. I was surprised that it turned out well, because collard greens seem to have a sort of musty smell and mustard greens– well, let’s just say that I’ve found the first vegetable that I truly, deeply loathe. Somehow, though, pairing them with so many other vegetables and spices saved this recipe. It’s really, really good, especially topped with lemon and chickpeas. Try it! You’ll like it, I promise.
DSC_0066Swamp Sludge Soup

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 C collard greens, de-stemmed, chopped and packed
  • 3 C mustard greens, de-stemmed, chopped, and packed
  • 1 C kale, de-stemmed, chopped, and packed
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-2 T olive oil
  • 2 sweet potatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1 t coriander
  • 1 t cardamom
  • 6 C vegetable broth
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a pot over medium heat; sauté onion and garlic until fragrant. Add sweet potatoes, collards, mustard greens, kale, and spices. Cook for a few minutes, or until wilted. Add vegetable broth, and cook until sweet potatoes are tender.
  2. Blend until smooth; adjust spices and serve topped with chickpeas and lemon juice.

DSC_0033

