Tags

, ,

It has been far too long since I’ve posted. Sorry about that; I had a cold for most of December, so I didn’t do much cooking. I’ve spent the last two weeks catching up, testing recipes and taking pictures. Everything has settled down a bit lately, so I’m back now.

A few weeks ago, there was in the refrigerator a bag of assorted leafy green vegetables– all mixed together, mostly unidentified. Disorder of this sort is something that I truly dislike, so one afternoon, I picked the leaves apart and sorted them. Once they were in piles, I could tell what most were: bitter kale, delicate mustard greens, unfamiliar collards, and Swiss chard of beautifully varied shades and textures– but there was one vegetable that I could not name.

It was a vibrant shade of green, small, feathery, and with a rather foreign aroma. My friend thought it might be dill, but the “leaves” were of a different shape. While browsing the Internet, I came across a picture of a fennel plant and realized that the green heap on the counter was its fronds. But– what to do with them? Nobody cooks with fronds. Every recipe I found on the Internet used the bulb, and nothing else. I decided to take a chance; here are the results.

DSC_0078

Beet & Fennel Spread

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C fennel fronds, packed
  • 8 small beets, peeled and quartered
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2″ leek, chopped
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 t olive oil
  • 1 T olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • Hummus, spinach, brown rice, Feta cheese, and toasted almonds, to serve.

Directions:

  1. Heat 2 teaspoons of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and leeks; sauté until fragrant. Add beets; cook for a few minutes. The beets shouldn’t be soft, just warm.
  2. Place fennel, beets, garlic, leek, lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and salt and pepper in a food processor. Blend until uniformly mixed and finely chopped, but not completely smooth.
  3. Spread on a tortilla with hummus, spinach, brown rice, Feta, and almonds.

DSC_0073

Also, here is my sister’s idea of a “humorous interruption.” Isn’t her sock lovely? She never matches them, so the other was orange.

