Tags

, , ,

Apples are, in my opinion, the most beautiful (and versatile) of fruits. Really, though– they go with everything. I eat them most often in the form of applesauce overloaded with cinnamon, but they’re also incredible dipped in peanut butter or topped with cheddar cheese. I love how crisp they are when you bite into them and that they’re splendidly juicy but not so juicy that it drips down your arm. Apples are, quite simply, a superior fruit.

The point of all of this rambling is this: the other day, I felt totally uninspired when I went to make breakfast. My sister and I have to take our breakfast to school with us, and it’s really difficult to find a something portable that will still taste okay after two hours in a backpack. As I searched in the refrigerator for ideas, I found some apples and a block of white cheddar cheese and thought: apples go well with cheese; why don’t I try making them into a sandwich?

However, there was a problem: mustard doesn’t go well with apples, at least as far as I know; neither does avocado. Garlic-and-chive hummus definitely doesn’t– but what could I put on the bread? I didn’t want it to be dry, so, in desperation, I spread peanut butter on one slice of bread and honey on the other. Once I’d made the sandwiches, I told my sister what I’d done; she thought I was insane, but she said that she would try it.

We’ve had it every day since.

It’s really good.

And no, we’re not just both crazy; our friend walks by every day during our break, and she agrees: these sandwiches are good.

DSC_0217

Peanut Butter, Apple, & White Cheddar Sandwiches

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices of bread
  • 1 apple
  • white cheddar cheese
  • peanut butter
  • honey

Directions:

  1. Spread peanut butter on two slices of bread; drizzle the other two (lightly) with honey.
  2. Thinly slice the apple and arrange on the peanut-buttered bread. Add the cheese, top with the honey-ed bread, and serve.

DSC_0177

