Tags

, , ,

I’m sorry, everyone– it’s been awhile. Just after school started, we moved; unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to cook as much as I’d like since then. Because I haven’t been able to do much experimentation recently, I thought I’d share my version of a recipe that my friend sent me several years ago.

Before I met Melanie, I’d never tried butternut squash. The first time I ate squash and lentils is one of my more memorable days, because– it was life-changing. Butternut squash is such a marvelous vegetable, and it positively screams “autumn.” It’s especially good when paired with curry powder and ginger-y lentils, as it is in this dish. There’s really not much more that I can say to describe it; it’s beyond description. You’ll just need to try it to understand the delight I find in it.

DSC_0001

Squash & Lentils

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium butternut squash, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 t curry powder
  • 1/2 C chopped pecans
  • 1 C brown rice
  • 3/4 C green lentils
  • 1 bay leaf
  • ground ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, cut into eighths
  • 1 C vegetable broth
  • juice of 1 lime
  • chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

  1. Put brown rice in a pot with 1 cup of vegetable broth and 1 1/2 cups of water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer with the lid on for 40-50 minutes. When the rice is cooked, turn off the stove and let it sit for 5 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 400°F. Toss butternut squash with onion, olive oil, salt, and curry powder. Roast for 20 minutes; stir, then sprinkle with chopped pecans. Roast for 10-15 more minutes or until the pecans are toasted and the squash is soft.
  3. Meanwhile, combine lentils with the 2 cups of water and the bay leaf, garlic, and a generous sprinkle of ground ginger. Bring it to a rapid simmer, then reduce the heat to low and let it cook for 20 minutes (with the lid off).
  4. Drain lentils; mix lentils and rice with the squash mixture. Top with cilantro, lime juice, salt and pepper to taste, and serve.

DSC_0013

